Ensuring that the agency programs and projects are consistent and supportive to the regional thrusts and priorities of the Regional Development Plan for 2023-2028, members of the Economic Development Sector (EdSeCom) of the Regional Development Council met for its 1st Regular Meeting at the Ynad’s Place Hotel and Resort, City of San Fernando La Union on March 8, 2023.

Presided over by the EdSeCom Chair, Dr. Annie Bares, heads of the member agencies including the Local Chief Executives presented and discussed their priority development programs and projects for FY ‘s 2024 that will directly contribute to the Region’s development thrusts and priorities.

A total of Php48,351,652.55 worth of projects proposed by the 10 member-agencies was endorsed by the RDC as among the priority programs and projects for implementation in FY 2024.

The ten Economic Sector member-agencies which include among others the Department of Agriculture (DA), Bureau of Fisheries and Agriculture Resources (BFAR), Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), Department of Science and Technology (DOST), Department of Tourism (DOT), Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), Agricultural Training Institute (ATI), National Tobacco Administration (NTA), and Philippine Coconut Authority (PCA) presented their budget proposal for priority programs and projects that focuses on strategic investments for modernizing agri-fishery and agribusiness, research and development, technology as well as trade investments.

Keeping the member-agency heads updated with the other priority projects, the meeting also provided an avenue to discuss the proposed scaling-up of the Philippine Rural Development Program (PRDP), the proposed creation of the Sea Salt Center in Bolinao, Pangasinan, and the CY 2022 Year-end RPMES Monitoring Support program.###