news gawad sakaWith their outstanding performance in the field of agriculture and fishery sectors, seven individuals and two groups of       agricultural achievers were awarded by the Department of Agriculture-Regional Field Office I during the Regional Gawad Saka Awarding Ceremonies held at the Nueva Segovia Consortium of Cooperatives in Caoayan, Ilocos Sur on October 18, 2013.

Gawad Saka is an annual search of the Department of Agriculture for outstanding individuals and groups in the farming and   fishing sectors who displayed exemplary performances and contributions in the development and promotion of agriculture in their        community thereby contributing in the attainment of DA’s goal for food security and sufficiency in the country.


                Leading this year's awardees are Dr. Jovita Datuin and Mr. Emerson Tabios whose exemplary performances were recognized and awarded as the country's Most Outstanding Agricultural Researcher and Outstanding Young Farmer during the DA's National Gawad Saka Search for Outstanding Agricultural Achievers awarding ceremonies held at PICC, Manila on November 15, 2013.

                Dr. Jovita Datuin is a multi-awarded researcher of the Department of Agriculture - Regional Field Office 1 and undeniably an asset of the Department with her numerous discoveries, breakthroughs and innovations in the field of livestock and poultry farming. With       dedication and commitment to serve the farmers, she was able to develop technologies that does not only help improve the productivity and income of farmers but empower them as well to be agri-entrepreneurs through livestock and poultry production.

                Her research on Rural Enterprise Development that focuses on goat production technologies which aims to teach farmers become     self-reliant and have a sustainable agribusiness through goat production gave way for the Gawad Saka evaluators to unanimously choose her as the country's Most Outstanding Agricultural Researcher. Her numerous awards, citations and recognitions during technical reviews and research presentations proved her worth as an outstanding agricultural researcher. Her passion to create awareness among her farmer-clientele, in developing their skills and potentials by humbly and unselfishly sharing her knowledge and experience in goat and duck production endeared her to many farmers.

                Equally competent to be named as the Philippine's Most Outstanding Young Farmer is Mr. Emerson Tabios of San Guillermo, San Nicolas, Ilocos Norte. A passionate farmer and a dynamic leader of the youth in their community, Emerson emerged as the country's pillar of development with his outstanding achievement in the field of agri-fishery sector. An extra-ordinary farmer, he serves as a model to his fellow youth as he proved that amidst adversities and trials in life, success can be attained with faith in God, patience, self-confidence and                 determination. Though a High School graduate, his willingness to learn and adopt new farming technologies that he acquired from the seminars, trainings and symposia he attended if only to update   himself with the latest farming techniques molded him to become wiser and an innovative farmer.  

                As the national winner, both Mr. Tabios and Dr. Datuin     received from Secretary Proceso Alcala check worth P150,000,     Presidential Trophy and Presidential citation. This is aside from their cash awards in the amount of P25,000 each as Regional winners given to them by the DA-RFO I through OIC-RED Valentino Perdido.

                Meanwhile, included in the lists of Regional Winners were: Mr. Alfredo Parrocha, Jr. the Outstanding Corn Farmer from Tubao, La Union, Mr. Jose Madriaga, the Outstanding High Value Crops Farmer in Bantay, Ilocos Sur and Engr. Albert Calsada from Bacarra, Ilocos Norte as the Outstanding Agri-Entrepreneur. Mr. Loreto Edra from Solsona Ilocos Sur was also awarded as the Outstanding Large Animal Raiser while Mr. James Galdones from Candon City, Ilocos Sur was awarded as the Most Outstanding Small Animal Raiser.

                Moreover, the Bacarra Zanjera Irrigators Multi-Purpose     Cooperative and Mr. Nestor Acosta and Family of Bacarra, Ilocos Norte were awarded as the Regional Outstanding Small Farmer/Fisherfolk and Outstanding Farmer /Fisherfolk Family, respectively. Each individual winners received from DA check worth P30,000 while group have received an amount of P50,000. Special Citations were given to the San Francisco Norte Rural Improvement Club of Sudipen, La Union and Mr. Eufemio Barayuga of San Nicolas, Ilocos Norte who each received P5,000 as cash prizes.

                To recognize also the valuable contributions of the             agricultural extension workers as well as the Municipal Agriculture Officers in terms of their notable accomplishments in agriculture extension delivery system, Ms. Lolita Aguinaldo, the Agricultural Extension Worker (AEW) of Solsona, Ilocos Norte was named as the Outstanding AEW and Ms. Editha V. Oriente of Santol, La   Union was cited as the Outstanding Municipal Agriculturist. They each received P30,000 from DA.

                To inspire the talent scouts of this year awardees, each have received a total amount of P15,000 in a form of check.

                Inspiring this year’s awardees is Assistant Secretary for Field Operations and the National Rice Program Directorate, Dante de Lima who served as the Guest of Honor and Speaker. Also present in the awarding ceremonies were: DA-RFU I OIC-RED Valentino Perdido, DA-RFU I’s RTD for Research and Regulation, Engr. Eduardo Gonzales, RTD for Operations, Dr. Paz L. MOnes, Caoayan Mayor Germelina Golart, Regional Agriculture & Fishery Council Chairman, Mr. Vincent Adorna and the Provincial           Agriculturist of Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur and La Union.###


Back to Top