extension workersrice

The Department of Agriculture Regional Field Office 1 alongside DA Cagayan and DA CAR on August 30, 2018 jointly recognized the efforts and outstanding contributions of partner LGUs and extension workers in the rice industry during the rice achievers awarding ceremony in Baguio City.

The provinces of Kalinga, Pangasinan, Ilocos Norte, Cagayan, and Isabela were recognized as Outstanding Provinces under Category A and the province of La Union as an Outstanding province under Category B.

Category A were provinces utilizing more than 50,000 hectares for rice production while Category B for provinces utilizing less than 50,000 hectares.

The municipalities of San Mateo, Isabela and Manaoag, Pangasinan were awarded Outstanding Municipalities while Tabuk City was awarded Outstanding City.

These local government units were awarded with funds for rice-related projects during the 2017 National Rice Achievers Award at the Philippine International Convention Center, Pasay City on May 31, 2018.

For Outstanding Agriculture Extension Workers (AEWs) and Local Farmer Technicians (LFTs), 16 (AEWS) and one (LFT) from the Cordillera Administrative Region; 44 (AEWs) and four (LFTs) from Region I; and 80 (AEWs) and 20 (LFTs) from Region II were awarded with plaques of recognition and incentives.

Leading the awarding ceremonies were Special Assistant to the Under Secretary for Operations Dr. Lorenzo M. Caranguian, DA RFO 1 Regional Executive Director (RED) Lucrecio R. Alviar Jr., DA RFO CAR RED Cameron P. Odsey, and DA RFO II RED Narcisso A. Edillo.

Based on the report of PSA for 2017, five provinces in the North Luzon Cluster - Nueva Ecija, Isabela, Pangasinan, Cagayan, and Tarlac are among the top ten rice-producing provinces in the country. These provinces contributed 5.18 million metric tons (or 31% ) from the total 19.28 metric tons in the rice production of the country last year. //

Back to Top