As part of the Culmination Activity of Farmers’ and Fisherfolks’ Month celebration for the month of May, the Department of Agriculture conducted the 2017 Rice Achievers Award at the Philippine International Convention Center in Pasay City last May 31, 2018.

The Rice Achievers Award is an annual activity of the DA to recognize the excellent performance and significant contributions in the rice industry of the Provincial/Municipal and City Governments, Irrigators associations, small water irrigators associations, agricultural extension workers and local farmer technicians.

Leading this year’s awardees are the provinces of Bulacan, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Ecija and Zamboanga del Sur. These provinces were under the Category A that utilize rice production areas of more than 50,000 hectares. The provinces of Kalinga and Zamboanga Sibugay which were under the Category B were also awarded as the Outstanding Provinces . Provinces under the Category B use less than 50,000 hectares for rice production. All these provinces received from DA checks worth P4,000,000.00 which can only be utilized for rice-related projects.

In Ilocos Region, bringing home the award as the Outstanding Municipality is the Manaoag town which received P1,000,000.00 worth of check from the DA. The Bingao Small Water Irrigation System Association, (SWISA) Inc. of San Nicolas, Ilocos Norte was named as Outstanding Small Water Irrigation System Association which brought home P500,000.00 worth of check.

Meanwhile, after being qualified for field validation, the province of Pangasinan received a Special Citation award and was given check worth P500,000.00. The provinces of Ilocos Norte and La Union that were qualified for Technical Paper Presentation were given each a Php250,000.00 worth of checks that can only be utilized in the implementation of rice-related projects.

The Bussaoit SWISA, Inc. from the municipality of Bacnotan in La Union was specially recognized as the Outstanding Small Water Irrigation System Association who also received from DA check P250,000.00 worth in the form of project.

The awarding ceremonies was led by no less than DA Secretary Emmanuel Piñol and Senate Committee Chair on Agriculture, Senator Cynthia Villar.

Back to Top