la union pangasinan top rice production

Consistent to its name as the country’s premiere Region, the Ilocos Region has continuously soared high after topping once more the number of provincial awardees during the recently concluded Annual Awarding rites of the 2016 National Rice Achievers held at the Philippine International Convention Center, Manila on May 24, 2017.

The provinces of Pangasinan and La Union, two of the best performing provinces when it comes to the implementation of rice programs and projects in the region were among the top seven provinces awarded in the awarding ceremonies out of the top 12 shortlisted provinces who were evaluated by the National Evaluation Team. The province of Ilocos Norte is likewise included in the top 12 lists that was validated and evaluated during the Field Evaluation made by the National Search Committee last March but due to the uncontrolled effect of typhoon Lawin in the production during the evaluation period covered, the province who consistently makes it to the top failed this time.

As winners of said competition, the Provinces of Pangasinan and La Union, were awarded with P4.0M each in the form of projects to support the implementation of the rice programs in their areas. Said amount were received by each of the provinces representatives through the Vice-Governor of Pangasinan, Hon. Jose Calimlim, Jr., and La Union Governor, Francisco Emmanuel “Pacoy” Ortega III. The officials also received the plaque of recognition that symbolizes the LGUs full participation in the DA’s goal of food sufficiency and food security in the country.

Aside from the top two provinces from Region I, the LGU of Solsona represented by its Mayor Alexander Calucag was recognized as among the top 17 performing municipalities when it comes to rice production. The municipality of Solsona, through Mayor Calucag received a dummy check worth P1.0M in the form of project to support the implementation of rice program in Solsona.

To recognize also the painstaking support and commitment of the agricultural extension workers who are directly involved in the implementation of programs and projects under the Rice Program and have outstanding performance in the implementation of the food staple sufficiency program of DA, 20 AEWs from Pangasinan, and 10 AEWs in La Union will be recognized in an awarding ceremonies to be held on June 9, 2017 at the Oasis Country Resort, San Fernando City, La Union.

The provinces of Ilocos Sur and Ilocos Norte, despite its failure to be part of the top-seven performing provinces have also produced 3 and 11 AEWs, respectively who will be given cash incentives in the amount of P20,000.00 each.

Local Farmer Technicians (LFTs) from the municipalities of Calasiao, Sta. Barbara in Pangasinan and the municipality of Pasuquin in Ilocos Norte will also be among the awardees for being the Outstanding LFTs on June 9. They will also receive cash incentives in the amount of P20,000.00 each.

The National Rice Achievers Award is an annual activity of the Department of Agriculture under the Rice Program to recognize outstanding performance of the Local Government Units, agricultural government workers as well as farmer leaders’ contribution in the attainment of the DA’s food security and self-sufficiency program

Back to Top